Board Members

Hopewell is governed by a dedicated and caring group of individuals from various backgrounds and experiences. They generously volunteer their time to assist Hopewell in achieving its Mission and Vision and to being a high-quality community resource for individuals and families requiring specialized supports.

The board is always looking for talented, committed and independent individuals that have expertise in various skills sets. If you are interested in learning more about a board position with Hopewell please contact Chair, Elizabeth Bowden at

Click here to view our Board of Director job description.

Chair - Elizabeth Bowden: joined in 2015 and became Chair of the Board in September 2016.  Liz runs her own Management Consulting Practice.

Vice-Chair - André Spekkens joined in 2017.  André is a retired health care executive who has worked for 35 years in a Long Term Care facility, both acute care hospitals in Guelph; worked as Corporate Director in a religious organization and Executive Director at a District Health Council.  He has chaired the Guelph Ringette Association, co-chaired an Ice Allocation Committee for the City, chaired the Physician Recruitment Committee and chaired the Building Committee for Hospice Wellington.

Treasurer - Shanna O’Dwyer: joined in 2012.  Shanna is Manager of Finance for Guelph-Wellington-Dufferin Public Health and also serves as chair of the Finance/HR Committee.

Secretary - Barb Adams: joined in 2016. Barb started her consulting company QualQuantex in 2015 and combines research, training and interactive design to create high impact solutions for organizations. 

Director - Laurie Iversen: joined in 2016.  Laurie runs her own administrative services support company, Productivity4u.  Prior to joining the board, she served as Recording Secretary for the Board. Currently, she heads a team of volunteers for the Annual Bowl-A-Thon fundraising event and works on the Marketing/Fundraising Committee.

Director - Jane Stamp: joined in 2018. Jane is the controller for Wellington Ortho & Rehab Associates and Wellington Physiotherapy Associates.  Jane is a member of the Finance/HR Committee.

Director - Peter Pickfield:  joined in 2013.  Peter is a partner in Garrod Pickfield LLP, an environmental and municipal law practice.  He is a volunteer from Hopewell's parent/family community and sits on the Finance/HR Committee.

Director - Jordan Carmichael: joined in 2018. Jordan is a Manager of Financial Services with TD Bank. Jordan volunteers on the Fundraising and Marketing Committee.

Director - Wendy Jespersen joined the board in 2019 and has a background in fundraising and marketing communications, not-for-profit, event planning, and magazine publishing.  She is currently Manager, Advancement Communications, in the department of Alumni Affairs and Development at the University of Guelph. She is a member of the Marketing/Fundraising Committee.

Director - Stephanie Smith joined the board in 2019 and comes from a career in Corporate Development in the nonprofit sector. She is currently a campaign manager for United Way Guelph Wellington Dufferin. She also volunteers her time as the Adult Coordinator for Western Region Ringette, and as a committee member for Guelph Gives. Stephanie is a member of the Capital Assets Committee.